New Job!

Well, I landed a job.  I will be moving to Korea in February (barring any major delays) to teach English in Daegu.  I am committing to at least one year, and may have the option to extend my contract another for another year.  I don’t know much about my new job at this point – I don’t even know where I’ll be teaching.  All I know right now is that I have a lot to do and not much time to do it.  My “to do” list includes (but is not limited to) packing, getting my visa, signing and returning a contract, getting a Notice of Appointment, and making a few trips to see my friends and family.

 

I began researching overseas teaching jobs about six months ago, when I realized that the U.S. economy might make it difficult to land a job.  There were many options available, but Korea seemed like the best fit for me.  I’ll go into more detail on this later.  I applied for EPIK (English Program In Korea), a government program that hires westerners to teach in Korean public schools, in October of this year.  The application process was slow, but fairly painless.  I am in the final stages, but it is becoming stressful because there are several things that could go wrong at this point.  I’ll give a more in-depth explanation of the application process later.

 

I wish I had more information to share at this point, but I don’t.  I will make an effort to keep you informed as things progress.  My plan is to turn this website into a blog/travelogue over the next year.  I will also use this blog to continue networking for another job, since this job may only last for one year.  Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have a job offer or suggestion for future employment.  I know that some of you may have questions about my new job, so please leave comments and ask questions.  I’ll do my best to answer them.

 

Until next time.

 

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

