FAQ

I should have written this post a week or two ago.  Friends and colleagues have been asking me questions nonstop since I told everyone that I am moving to Korea.  Not surprisingly, the same few questions seem to come up over and over again.  I’ll try to address the most common questions here.

When do you leave for Korea?

My plane leaves San Francisco on February 17.  It’s a direct flight; I’ll land in Seoul on February 19.

Whoa!  It’s a 48 hour flight to Korea?

No.  Korea in a different time zone.

Where will you live in Korea?

I’ll live in Daegu, which is a city of 2.5 million people that lies 150 miles southeast of Seoul.  Here is a map of South Korea.

In what type of housing will you live?

The MOE (Metropolitan Office of Education) will pay for me to live in a small efficiency somewhere in the city.  I don’t know any of the specifics, like my address or even the part of the city in which I will live.  The apartment will not be in a school complex or any other type of compound – I’ll live in a normal apartment building.

Do you speak Korean?

No.

How can you teach English in Korea if you don’t speak Korean?

Korean students learn English through immersion.  In the US, we are accustomed to a totally different style of foreign language learning.  That may explain why, after a decade of Spanish classes, some American students have trouble remembering the Spanish words for colors and numbers.  Korean kids, on the other hand, are nearly fluent in English by the time they reach middle school because of the way English is taught.

How often will you communicate with your handler?

I don’t understand the question.

 

If you have any other questions that you would like me to address, feel free to leave a comment.  I’ll answer as many as I can.

Until next time.

-Taft

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

