Exploring the OC

Ok, back to business.  After the last silly post, I feel like it’s time to throw some real travelogue action your way.  So, here goes:

Saturday and Sunday, I went to some pretty cool places with the family.  The first was a restaurant called The Beachcomber.  We drove to Crystal Cove State Park, which is less than a mile from Laguna Beach.  The view was from the back deck, which was about fifty feet from the water, was exceptional.  We ate brunch overlooking the beach and the ocean.  The food wasn’t half bad either, especially the filet mignon chilaquiles that Zoe ordered.

I heard that the beignets we ordered as an appetizer were great, but I can’t give a first-hand account.  Zoe was pretty quick on the draw; she snagged the last few.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with beignets (pronounced: ben-yays), they are little pastries that resemble gourmet donut holes.  They’re basically small pieces of funnel cake.

Once we finished brunch, dad and I made a mistake.  We decided not to ride the shuttle back up to the parking area, which is about half a mile from the restaurant.  We decided that the shuttle is only there for old people and kids.  Wrong.  What we failed to notice on the way down (in the shuttle) was that the drive was nearly straight downhill.  Therefore, the walk back to the car was straight uphill.  I came pretty close to blowing groceries more than once during our hike.  I was seriously worried about wasting $15 worth of amazing french toast.

After brunch, we went to a place called Robert’s Garden Center.  I don’t have a green thumb and don’t care much for garden centers, but this place was awesome.  You could buy anything from rare orchids to kumquat trees.  I was tempted to take an orange, but I held back.   Best of all, it smelled amazing, since everything in Southern California seems to be in bloom all the time.  I could have spent another hour there just looking at the cool plants.  I took a picture that covers about a third of the center:


Zoe’s favorite part of the afternoon came when we were driving home from the garden center.  Out of the blue, she gasped and pointed out the window.  It was obvious that she couldn’t find the right words.  This is a pretty common, so I didn’t pay much attention to it.  The thing happens every time she sees a Smart Car or a dog.  When this happens, she sounds like an asthmatic six year-old watching a horror movie.

Anyway, this particular panic attack of happiness lasted longer than most.  I looked out her window, but all I saw was a white Bentley.  It was very nice but it’ss not something Zoe would care about.  She finally found the words.  “That’s Alexis!”  I was still lost, but I handed Zoe my phone anyway so she could take some pictures.

Once the Alexis and her Bentley were gone, my dad explained to me that Alexis is a nutty bitch from TV.  She is one of the Housewives of Orange County.  So I guess that’s my first semi-celebrity sighting in OC.  Not as good as my dad running into Steve Carell, but it’s something.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Exploring the OC

  1. Robert says:

    It’s a shame Zoe wasn’t here when I got my car. On some level, I would have enjoyed seeing someone look like an asthmatic six year old. It’d be a nice change from the usual toothless redneck: “That wun of them faintsy ‘lectric cars?”

    • wtl0715 says:

      Yeah, I hate it she missed that. I’m sure a ride in your car would have made her year. She would definitely appreciate it more than the Caldwell County crowd.

  2. cathy says:

    Hi Taft! Sounds like you’re having a fab time with the Love Bunch…did you move there or are you visiting???

    Say hi to your Mom and Dad and Zoe for me!
    Cathy Parker

    • wtl0715 says:

      Cathy,

      Great to hear from you and thanks for checking out the blog. I am just visiting right now because I’m in between homes. I’ll be moving to South Korea in a little less than two weeks. I’ve been making the rounds on both coasts and visiting family. Last stop is San Fran, then off to ROK.

      I’ll be sure to tell the rest of the family that you said hi. I hope all is well on your end. Please tell Matt I said hello.

      -Taft

Leave a Reply

