Boredom

Ok, I’m bored.  I’ve been in Irvine for about a week now.  It’s a great city, and I love spending time with my family, but I’m ready to go.  I don’t know a single person my age and it’s difficult to sit still knowing that I have such a huge trip looming just over the horizon.  With a few notable exceptions, I follow the same basic routine every day.

I wake up around 6 or 7 am (still on east coast time), eat breakfast, and take my dog for a walk.  After that, I have lunch with my dad.  When lunch is done, the boredom sets in.  I’ve played poker with my mom a time or two and run errands a couple of days, but the vast majority of my time is spent watching TV and staring at a computer screen.

Before dinner, I take the dog for another walk at the walking park near the house.  It’s called the Jeffrey Open Space, named after the road on which the Woodbury neighborhood is situated.  One of the access points for the walking park is less than 100 feet from my parents’ doorstep.  Walking in the park is quickly becoming the highlight of my day.  I know I sound like a geriatric, check out these pictures:

This is what it looks like when I walk onto the walking path.

This view is from a spot about a quarter mile from my parents' house. The posts you see are remnants of the Irvine Company train stop where oranges were loaded into train cars.

The park spans the entire length of the neighborhood (about a mile) and goes under the main street. This is the tunnel that runs under Jeffrey Street.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

