Transpacific

It has only been about 48 hours since my last post, and I’m already way behind.  There are so many things I want to share, so my plan is to do so in an organized fashion.  Each of the next few posts will be about a specific event or element of my trip.  The first is my flight from San Francisco to Seoul.

I have never been in such a giant plane.  It seems impossible that something so big and heavy can fly half way around the world without stopping.  I tried to take picture that demonstrated the size of the cabin, but it was impossible as there are 10 (yes 10) galleys.  The best I could do was to stand at the back of the plan and snap a shot of the portion of the cabin in which I sat.

The crew was larger than I expected.  There must have been two dozen flight attendants spread throughout the cabin.  They took turns sleeping (in a crew cabin upstairs at the rear of the plane) and seemed to always be refreshing drinks and serving food.  I seldom saw an empty glass.  The only thing better than the service was the hotness of the crew.  Several of the women were exceptionally attractive.  I can’t believe I didn’t get caught staring.

The flight did not seem to take as long as I expected.  The seemingly endless supply of movies, shows, and games available on the seat-back screen was helpful.  We were allowed to congregate in the rear of the plane near one of the crew galleys, which helped to break the monotony.  I met and chatted with a few other EPIK teachers that way.  At one point, a flight attendant came up to us and said, “you’re not allowed to congregate in the rear of the plane….without wine.”  He returned shortly with a bottle of Cabernet and a handful of glasses.

Thirteen hours after leaving San Francisco, we touched down at Incheon Airport, which was amazing.  It was clean and simple, but not institutional.  I am confident that you could eat off of any surface in the building.  There were moving walkways everywhere.  I traveled at least a quarter mile between the gate and customs, but I doubt that I walked more than 100 yards.   It was all foreign and a bit intimidating, but an unexpected sight helped to settle my nerves.

The rest of the night was interesting, as was the following day, but I’ll save that for another post.  I look forward to telling you all about it.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

