Engerish

I have been on a mad hunt for Engerish (English) for the past few days.  This is the improper use of English; most often sentences structured according to Korean or Chinese grammatical rules.  I have found a handful of  knick knacks with Engerish printed on them.  The first was a pencil case that read: “Being you makes me happy.”  My favorite one was a greeting card that read: “I love you to be inside me.”  I didn’t think to buy it at the time, but I may go back for it later.

Engerish stuff isn’t as common as it was a few years ago, thanks to spell check and easy access to westerners, but it can be found.  My friend Hans found some great Engerish on a coffee cup (pictured left) yesterday while we were out and about in Jeonju.

I was also fortunate to stumble upon some socks with a poop theme.  Stuff like this is surprisingly common in Korea because it isn’t taboo like in the US.  There have been a few other examples, and I’ve been told to expect a lot more.

Here are a few of the things that I’ve bought over the past week:

 

I found this little gem in a "1000 Won Store" (dollar store) next to campus. They had tons of cool little things like this.

 

I saved the best for last...

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Engerish

  1. Zoe Love says:

    I sure am enjoying your blog and comments. Now make sure you look for something with “Punkin” on it !! Can’t wait for you to get to your new post and find new things to investigate.
    You take care and I miss you already.

    • wtl0715 says:

      I’m glad you’re still keeping up. It’s hard to write new posts while I’m at orientation, but I’ll try to keep them coming. I’ll dedicate one to you if I come across anything with “Punkin” on it. I miss you too.

Leave a Reply

