Best Birthday Ever!

Okay, so it’s not my birthday…but don’t tell anyone at the bar that.  My orientation roommate, Mark, played a joke on me last night.  He walked up and started singing Happy Birthday to me as loud as he could.  By the end of the song, a huge group was gathered around me.  People were wishing me a happy birthday and others were buying me shots of Soju.  The owner of the bar brought an entire bottle and split it with me.  It was my “bursday soju drinku.”  I tried to decline after the first two shots, but he was persistent.  A friend from Australia who understands Korean culture explained that it is extremely rude to refuse a drink in that situation.  So, I drank.

This picture was taken a a few seconds after they finished singing Happy Birthday. The bar was packed, but I think most of the people were standing behind the camera man.

I tried to tell everyone that it wasn’t my birthday, but nobody could hear me over the music and the applause.  Mark told me to, “just go with it.”  And I did.  It was fun.

As soon as I got to the cafeteria this morning, someone walked up to me and wished me a happy birthday.  I spent the rest of the morning explaining to people that it was a joke.  Luckily, nobody was too offended.  I didn’t even have to pay people back for the drinks they bought me.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Best Birthday Ever!

  1. seantell says:

    awesome bday party man

  2. drybredquips says:

    Thanks for liking “happiness” and “different opinions.” And thanks for sharing your non-birthday. I hadn’t thought of or heard about Soju since I drank some dipped out of a cooler in a small grocery store in central Japan many years ago. I remember not remembering anything for the rest of the day after I drank it. Pretty potent stuff!

    • wtl0715 says:

      Haha, I know what you mean about soju. I call it “the ninja” because it sneaks up on you. I haven’t had more than one soju drink at a time since I first arrived in Korea.

      Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Leave a Reply

