First Big Night Out

I had a blast last night!  A big group from orientation met up at Bangwaldon station, which is where Daegu’s two subway lines cross.  We ate barbecue for dinner and then went upstairs (same building) to a bar called Traveler’s.  It’s a famous bar, so I had heard of it before, but it was even better than I expected.  The Korean employees spoke English and the bar was filled with westerners.  For about an hour, I stepped out of Korea and into the US.  But it was even better than the states, because I got to listen to Kiwis, Brits, and South Africans talk the whole time.  I’m sure my British friends are tired of me telling them that I love their accent.

After Traveler’s, the group moved into a section of downtown with which I was unfamiliar.  In fact, I’m still not familiar with it.  There was loud music, bright lights, a sea of young Koreans and an endless supply of bars.  The group split up, and my half got lost, so we spent half an hour just catching up with everyone else.  My friend Seth kept telling me to look for the “big ‘AU’ sign that is blue and high above the street.”  What neither of us realized is that there were about ten of these signs spread around a block.  Once the group came back together, we went to a place where we bought cocktails in a  bag and chicken on a stick.  Seemed like an odd combination, but everybody liked it.

The coolest place we went was a club called Houzee.  It was ALL white.  The bar, the floor, the ceilings, the chairs….you get the point.  One of the girls in our group, which had thinned out to about seven people, left the table to look for a bathroom.  A few seconds later she ran back and said, “I found a photo studio.”  We were all intrigued, so we followed her into a room beside the bar.  She wasn’t kidding; it was a professional photo studio set up in what was probably once a coat room.  There were two giant lights facing a white wall.  Our waiter came in and asked if we wanted him to take some photos.  In hindsight, it was really weird, but we all got into it at the time.  I wish I could post some of those photos for you – I saw a bunch show up on Facebook today and they were pretty awesome.

By the time we left the bar, at about 2am, the subway system was closed.  They stop running here sometime around 1am.  My friends Phil, Jarrett and I went to McDonald’s and grabbed sandwiches.  Just like in The States, a little McDonald’s goes a long way.  I’ve had my fill for a while.  We said goodnight from there and grabbed cabs back to our respective parts of town.  My cab driver spoke no English, so I had to practice Korean.  Surprisingly, I was able to tell him where to go, give him simple directions (left and right), and tell him where to stop.  No charades involved.

I have the day off for a national holiday today.  I’m embarrassed to say that I don’t know which holiday I should be celebrating.  If you know it, be a peach and leave a comment with the name of the holiday.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “First Big Night Out

  1. Mary Katherine Love Walker says:

    It is March Movement Day all of Korea celebrates. The independent movement that took place March 1919.

  2. Branch says:

    National Independence Movement Day

  3. Drew pouniu says:

    The white bar was pretty mean… just awesome!

  4. […] First Big Night Out « A Southerner Abroad March 6th, 2012 | […]

Leave a Reply

