Roller Coaster

Right when I thought things were going well, I hit another big bump in the road.  My coteacher picked me up this morning and took me to school.  He called me last night to remind me (for the 239305th time) that he would pick me up at “am, seven tirdy”.  He showed up at 7:10, right as I was walking out the door to get breakfast.  No big deal, though, I can always wait for lunch.

We got in the car and he told me to write down my name, home town, education, and hobbies.  This struck me as odd because he’s asked me for the same thing twice already.  He could tell that I was confused, so he explained: “I am drunk at night and lose it.”  Nice, dude.  Super professional.

When we got to school, he told me that it is “busy day.”  It sounded a lot like “pussy day,” so we had a few awkward moments.  Eventually, he spelled it for me and we moved on.  He also told me that it was, “too pussy for lunch.”  So it looks like lunch might not be an option after all.  So, I’m going to be pretty damn hungry when I get home.  More importantly, I can tell that I’m losing patience more quickly today because I’m hungry.

Mr. Kim walked me into the main teachers’ office and told me to have a seat on a couch in the corner of the room.  I was facing away from the entire office, staring at a bookcase.  As teachers began to arrive, they walked right past me.  I’m sure they thought I was rude, sitting facing away from the entire room.  One or two said hello (in Korean), but most just looked at me and kept going.  He has yet to introduce me to a single teacher.  I found out that I am sharing my office with a new teacher.  Ms. Shil is very nice and her English is slightly better than Mr. Kim’s.  Unfortunately, she doesn’t know anyone yet either.

Ms. Shil did know one thing, though.  She told me that, when she arrived this morning, she was told that this is an alternative school.  So I’m going to be teaching a bunch of bad kids who apparently hate English class.  She said that English is the most difficult subject to teach these kids.

I am starting to get a bit pissed off.  I’m not mad at Mr. Kim or anyone else at this school.  I have a feeling this was sprung on him at the last minute.  He seems to want to help me out, but he simply can’t.  I feel like this was a total lack of due diligence on the part of the EPIK staff.  During orientation week at Jeonju, we were told repeatedly that our quality of life in Korea (at work and at home) will depend heavily on the quality of our coteacher.  Amen to that.

Well, I’m done complaining for the day.  I think it’s time to familiarize myself with Google Translate.  I just gave it a shot and it helped me talk to my coteacher.  Wish me luck.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Roller Coaster

  1. Chris Branch says:

    I think now is the time to use that phrase I taught you…

    • wtl0715 says:

      I think you’re right. I’m sure it will get better, I think half of my frustration is hunger.

      • Chris Branch says:

        I hope the other teachers are having better luck. It seems “hit and miss” with the schools, apartments, and counterparts in this new job. I didn’t know you wanted to work at “Gateway” in Korea. 😉

      • wtl0715 says:

        Haha, I don’t guess it matters what I want. I’ll have to make the best of it. I just had a conversation with an administrator who almost speaks passable English. It was refreshing – I might have a new friend.

  2. Bill says:

    You need to watch “To Sir With Love”. ASAP.

    The parallels are uncanny……. except Sydney Poitier was an American engineer who ended up teaching and you are a pOlice who ended up teaching…. and Syd is black and you are white….. and he was teaching white British neerdowells and you are teaching Korean non-enthusiast…… and I don’t remember him being a bitch due to hunger issues….. but otherwise, EXACTLY the same thing!

    Bottom line (in case I overlooked this movie and never made you watch it) he wins the punks over with his charm and teaches them manners.

    Two snaps up on this movie and add LuLu’s title song to your playlist…. it won a grammy!

    Just for fun….. see if you can get the kids to all call you “Sir”. Like “Madonna”…. only one name…. the only one they know.

    “To Sir Wif Ruv

    I like it!

  3. Bill says:

    You need to watch “To Sir with Love” ASAP

    The parallels are uncanny….. except Sydney Poitier was black guy teaching white British neerdowells…… and you are a white guy teaching Korean non-enthusiast ….. and he was an American engineer who decided to teach in another country….. and you were a police who decided to teach in another country…. and I don’t remember him being a bitch because of hunger issues….. but otherwise EXACTLY the same thing.

    Bottom line (in case I never made you watch this movie) is that he wins his students over with charm and teaches them manners.

    Add LuLu’s Grammy winning title track to your playlist. I just gave you a theme song!

    Just for fun, see if you can have all the students calling you “Sir” …. like “Madonna”…. one name, the only one they know, by the end of the semester.

    “To Sir wif Ruv”

    I like it!

  4. Drew pouniu says:

    You’re having a rough time dude, I really feel for you man. Hopefully the weekend started well for you and it’ll only get better. Catch you tonight 🙂

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks Drew. I’m sure it will get better. I’ll just have to spend some time getting to know the other teachers on my own. I look forward to seeing everyone downtown!

Leave a Reply

