SEXYCOOKIE

I wimped out last night. Three nights of bar-hopping in one week is just too much for me. I went downtown for dinner and a couple of drinks, but decided to head home shortly thereafter. I managed to get a few pictures to show you, though. The first was taken near the main subway station downtown, Bangwoldon Station. Our routine is to met at a huge fountain in the middle of Bangwoldon Station and then walk downtown together. Just outside the station exit nearest the bar scene, we pass a block I like to call “puppy row.” On both sides of the street, for an entire block, there is nothing but pet stores. The Koreans are all about presentation, so there are hundreds of perfectly groomed puppies watching us go by.  There isn’t a hair out of place on these dogs.  I think some of my friends are getting sick of me saying, “they’re so fluffy I could die!” (Recognize the movie reference?)

I took several photos of storefronts, a few of which had cuter puppies, but this is the only photo that wasn't overexposed.

Shortly after passing Puppy Row, my Australian friend Hans spotted an awesome storefront:

No explanation needed.

We had a good dinner at a nice restaurant near SEXYCOOKIE.  We were all in the mood for chicken, so we ordered a big platter of chicken and noodles.  It came on a giant plate; the noodles and chicken were in a thick teryaki-like sauce.  It smelled really sweet, so I thought it would be bad, but it actually tasted pretty salty and spicy.  The chicken was incredible.  I was so glad to have a meal without unnecessary sugar, which seems to be the only thing you can get in Korea.  The bread is sweet, the sauces are sweet, and it can be really difficult to find savory.  I got a small personal pizza earlier in the day, and they put syrup on it.  I would have spit it out if the woman who served it to me wasn’t watching.

Sometime during the meal, my friend Wavy looked up and saw the most amazing storefront that we’ve seen yet.  It was on the second floor, directly across from the restaurant, overlooking the street.  It looked like the business was divided into several rooms, each with a TV, a giant teddy bear, a table, and a bed.  I couldn’t tell if it was a Pretty-Pretty-Princess theme motel or the weirdest DVD bahng ever.  A DVD bahng (방), by the way, is a place where you go and pay to rent a room with a TV in it to watch movies.  Not to be confused with a PC bahng (where I am now), or a nore-bahng (where you rent a room to sing karaoke).  Since I don’t know exactly what this place was, a picture will have to do:

If you look closely, you'll see a teddy bear posed in one of the windows covering its eyes. Clicking on the image should enlarge it.

After dinner, we ran into a big group that we knew and followed them to Go-Go Bar.  That’s when I hit my limit.  I couldn’t even look at a drink-in-a-bag.  I had to head home.  The subway stops running at 11:30, so my friend Liz and I caught the last westbound. She was kind enough to strike up a conversation with a few drunk old Korean guys shortly before her stop. So for the next three stops they talked to me about…who knows?  Whatever it was seemed pretty exciting.  The only word I caught was “mi-gook”, which means “American.” One of the men seemed particularly fond of me; he kept rubbing my arm and bowing to me over and over again.  When we reached my stop, I shot out of the train like a bullet.

Time to go shopping.  I’ve been putting it off for days because I got a bit weirded out last time I went to Home Plus (it’s like a weird Wal-Mart).  Wish me luck.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

