Koreans Are SERIOUSLY Polite

On my way to the bus stop this morning, I bought muffins at Paris Baguette.  There are only three teachers in my office, which is in a different part of the building from the main teachers’ office, so I didn’t feel the need to buy enough for every teacher in the school.  I still grabbed a few extra just in case; the IT guy has been in our office often and I didn’t want to snub him.

Sure enough, the IT guy showed up shortly after I arrived.  I offered him a muffin and he accepted it.  It was obvious that he has never had one before.  He gave it a curious look and smelled it before eating.  About halfway through the muffin, a concerned look fell over his face.  Maybe he doesn’t like the taste.

I told him that I would not be offended if he didn’t finish it, but he said, “no, is derricious.”  IT guy powered through the muffin, even though it was clear he hated it.  With every bite, he looked more and more confused and concerned.  When he was nearly finished, Ms. Shin stood up and and said something in Korean.  The IT guy stopped eating and pulled a big piece of muffin paper out of his mouth.  I couldn’t help but laugh.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Koreans Are SERIOUSLY Polite

  1. jt10s says:

    Funny… But you didn’t see him eating the paper??! Or just wanted him to finish it before saying anything? Oh well, guess he won’t be doing THAT again!

    • wtl0715 says:

      I guess I should have been paying attention. It never occurred to me that someone might not know that muffins have paper attached. You’re right, he definitely won’t make that mistake twice.

Leave a Reply

