Unluckiest Lucky Person

My sister recently told me that I am the unluckiest person that she has ever met.  I think she is right, but only when it comes to the small things.  When it comes to the stuff that counts, I am extremely lucky.  I was born into an upper middle class family that has always treated me very well.  I’ve never gone to bed hungry.  I have a great group of friends at home, and my new friends are pretty awesome, too.

Unfortunately, the small things seem to be piling up at the moment.  None of them matter in the big picture, but they’re sure kicking my ass right now.  I wrote an email to the previous EPIK teacher at my high school yesterday.  I got a response this morning.  This jumped out at me: “My coteacher was [Mrs. Kim]. You shouldve met her by now. Stick with her and she will take care of everything.”  That is the woman who is gone for the next nine months.

The only restaurant in my neighborhood with western-ish food refused to serve me last night.  I don’t really understand what happened; all I know is that I saw a picture of fried chicken and french fries on a sign, went inside, and was promptly asked to leave.  I have a sneaking suspicion that the gentlemen from Camp Walker (US Army Base) may have a hand in this.  Looking like a soldier (albeit a chubby one) has not won me any favors with the Koreans.

**Note: It should go without saying that I am in full support of our troops and this is not reflective of my feeling toward the US military.

Luckily today started off pretty well.  I thought that I had missed the school bus, but it was just running late.  And yes, I ride the school bus – not particularly fancy, but it gets me there.  I also happened to spot a laundromat on my way to the bus stop.  I try to take a new route to the main road at least once a day, so I cut down a side street this morning.  Now I can get back to wearing suits and spend less time ironing every night.

Well, I think it’s time to get back to figuring this thing out:

It's a bit blurry, but you'll notice that everything but the numbers are in Korea. At least I have the numbers...

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Unluckiest Lucky Person

  1. Thank god for those numbers! Lol I’m going to Costa Rica in July to teach-I like reading your posts, I plan on having similar ones! 🙂

    • wtl0715 says:

      That sounds like a great trip! Truth be told, I doubt my bad luck is out of the ordinary for most places. You will probably struggle with similar issues, but I bet it will be worth every minute of it. I’ll keep you up to date on my progress. Good luck on your trip!

Leave a Reply

