I Tried The Spaghetti

For the past week, I’ve had my eye on a pack of spaghetti ramen noodles that I found at the grocery store near my house.  It piqued my interest because the Koreans seem to be obsessed with spaghetti.  I bought a six-pack of spaghetti ramen bags at the grocery store last week and have been waiting for a chance to try one.  I got that chance yesterday afternoon when I got home from work.  I know, spaghetti ramen sounds weird.  That’s because it is.

Most of the ramen noodle packs I’ve been eating recently call for hot water to be added to the noodles.  The instructions (pictures) on the back of the pack told me to drop the whole block of noodles into a pot of boiling water.  I wasn’t sure how long I should let it boil (instructions were in Korean), so I just guessed.  Apparently I guessed right, because the noodles came out nearly perfect.  Per the instructions, I drained the noodles and added two of the three spice packets.

If you look closely at the picture above, you’ll notice that one of the packets contained macaroni, beans, and corn.  Are you starting to notice a pattern yet?  The Koreans are definitely not afraid to add a little corn to EVERYTHING.  My dad has a theory about the corn.  He thinks that the Koreans (and several other Asian cultures) like western foods, but decided to improve upon our recipes.  The Chinese add mayo and lettuce to a lot of things.  The Koreans add corn and beans.  I’m starting to think my dad is right.

The last step was to add a packet of “spaghetti sauce.”  It was more like ketchup.  The taste would have been pretty close to real tomato sauce were it not for the fact that it was way too sweet.  I think that a few pinches of salt could fix that problem.

Well, the verdict is in: spaghetti ramen is about as Italian as Hot Pockets.  It wasn’t terrible, but it certainly wasn’t spaghetti.  That didn’t come as a huge surprise, though.  If I can get my hands on some salt, I’ll probably make another go of it.  In the meantime, I’ll keep my eye out for other interesting foods.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

