Don’t Get Caught Smoking

When I got to school this morning, I was surprised by what I found in the hallway.  There was a group of six boys bent over at the waist, hopping down the hallway, holding their hands at the side of their head (like bunny ears), and yelling a chant.  I had to wait for the line of yelling bunnies to pass before I could get into my classroom.

When Ms. Shin arrived, I asked her what was going on.  She explained that the boys were caught smoking in the bathroom yesterday.  The principal sentenced them to the dreaded bunny-hop.  They have to hop up and down the hallway for the entire home room period, which lasts 40 minutes.  They can’t talk to each other, get out of the bunny-hop line, or take a break.  The chant was pretty simple: “smoking is bad.”

I have a feeling that won’t be the last bunny-hop this semester.  I can see the bathroom from my office, and there are at least three other groups of boys that smoke there every day.  Some of them even see me watching them.  Apparently they’re not worried about being caught by the foreign teacher.  That may prove shortsighted on their part.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Don’t Get Caught Smoking

  1. Bill says:

    Nobody likes a snitch….

  2. Lindsay says:

    Omg that’s hysterical!!

  3. w3rdst3r says:

    I get this feeling that trying to assert ‘respect’ and ‘authority’ as a teacher is going to be very difficult for us… LOL @ ubsurd punishment!

Leave a Reply

