FYI

Ms. Sun, Ms. Won, and I had a meeting this afternoon about my lesson plans for next week.  I included the word “sponge” in one of my Powerpoint presentations, which we were reviewing.  They were unfamiliar with the word, so I searched for images of sponges on Google.  Not surprisingly, a few pictures of Spongebob Squarepants showed up in the results.

I told them that I like Spongebob, and they both started laughing.  Once they regained their composure, Ms. Sun informed me that Spongebob is gay.  In fact, some Koreans believe that Spongebob will make your children gay if you’re not careful.  It is important to limit the amount of time children spend watching both Spongebob.

Ms. Won chimed in.  She asked me if I was familiar with Terra-Tuppies (Teletubbies).  She explained that the Terra-Tuppies are a bit more complicated than Spongebob.  Only one of the Terra-Tuppies is gay; the other three are straight.  The purple one is a “homosexurral.”  Like Spongebob, Po might make your children gay.  I decided not to ask how the three other Terra-Tuppies manage to avoid contracting homosexuality given how much time they spend with Po.  That debate didn’t seem like a good idea.

I thought that the most interesting thing about this conversation was the fact that they didn’t seem to have any animosity toward homosexuals.  I am accustomed to people being angry about the very existence of homosexuality, but I got the impression that Koreans are a bit less judgmental than homophobic American.

I’ll keep you up to date as I learn which other fictional characters are gay.  I think this could get (more) interesting.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “FYI

  1. w3rdst3r says:

    Spongebob is Gay… nah jokes. I can’t believe this!!! Korea is definately an interesting place!

Leave a Reply

