I’m Getting Better

Let me begin by saying that I still suck at teaching….but I’m getting better.  Hell, if I keep improving at this rate, I might advance to “below average” soon.  If I really work hard, I could reach “aggressively mediocre” within a month.

I just finished planning a lesson, and I think it’s a good one.  With a couple of notable exceptions, my last few lessons have flopped hard.  I seriously misjudged the amount of time that activities would take.  Every class, I had to figure out how to burn five minutes of dead air.  It did not go well.

I came in ready to work a tough class schedule this morning and someone told me that all of my high school classes were cancelled.  Apparently they’re all taking some sort of big important test.  I decided not to look a gift horse in the mouth – I went straight to my office and started planning for my middle school class today. It’s looking like a solid plan.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “I’m Getting Better

  1. I hope it gets better for you 🙂

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks! I’m sure it will. It’s difficult right now, but I’ll find my stride soon enough.

      Don’t let my bitching freak you out as you prepare for your trip. Most of my friends here are having a great time at school. I think I am the exception and not the rule.

  2. myfriendmissmiller says:

    Doesn’t it feel like we’re NEVER GOOD ENOUGH? I was just telling a coworker today that I feel like the harder I work, the more I’m NOT getting things done. Maybe if I give up and kick my feet up, things will fall into place. Or perhaps its the kids’ conspiracy theory against the rest of us. Guess I’ll never really know…

    • wtl0715 says:

      I haven’t been teaching long enough to figure out exactly how I feel – but I am definitely beginning to see how one can feel overwhelmed and under appreciated.

  3. w3rdst3r says:

    You’ll be great sooner than you think. As a rule of thumb have 3-4 games / activities that any level can do. I have songs, phonics and some PPT of random sentences “How’s it going? etc” for fill in time. Also, hangman and crossword stuff is okay too…

Leave a Reply

