Oh….Now I Get It

As usual, I was totally confused about today’s schedule.  It must be difficult for the Koreans to remember that I don’t speak Korean and have absolutely no idea what’s going on or why I am going wherever they are leading me.  They try their best to keep me apprised of any changes to the schedule, but sometimes it’s just not possible for them to hold my hand the entire day.  Today was one of those days.

All of the high school students are taking some huge test today, which ends earlier than the normal school day, so I was worried that I might miss the bus.  I asked my coteacher when the buses leave and he said, “oh, yes, very good.”  This means that he has no idea what I just asked.  It has become our little secret code.  So secret, in fact, that he doesn’t know it exists.

When Ms. Shin came into the office, I cornered her and asked her to help me figure out what the hell is going on today.  She could tell that I was worried about being stranded, so she took the time to explain it all to me.  She pulled out the bus schedule (yes, apparently we have a bus schedule).  She started marking, circling, and drawing lines.  I didn’t know what the hell she was talking about because her high-speed Engerish is impossible for me to follow.  Here’s what I ended up with:

On the bright side, I did figure out that my bus leaves at 5:00 today.  I guess that’s all I need to know for the time being.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

