The Grocery Store

I made my second trip to the grocery store on my street Sunday night.  It’s a small neighborhood store that draws customers from about a two-block area.  I thought you might like to see some pictures.  There wasn’t anything crazy, but there were several interesting things.

I started out in the snack aisle.  There were quite a few interesting snack products, but two jumped out at me.

This bag caught my eye because the picture on the front looks like a worm lassoing a giant turd. Also, these look like chocolate Cheetos. That's just gross.

I bought a bag of french fry things last week, and they were good. I decided to give these a shot as well. They were terrible. They smelled like fish gone bad.

Beside the snack isle there was a small display with a facial product that I have never seen before.

Facial Yogurt? Really?

After the Facial Yogurt, I walked over to the dairy section, where there was a surprisingly large selection of yogurt made for eating (not rubbing on your face).  At the time, I didn’t know what it was, so I didn’t take any pictures.  It wasn’t until last night that I found out the little bottles of liquid next to the milk were actually liquid yogurt.  They call it “fridge yogurt”.  Which begs the question, where do they store regular (solid) yogurt?

There was a huge selection of milk, too.  The Koreans are much more adventurous with dairy products than Americans.  They didn’t limit themselves to skim, 1%, 2%, and whole.  There were a lot of different flavors, some of which didn’t seem particularly appetizing when combined with milk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My last stop was the fruit section.  I was surprised by how different the prices were compared to fruits in the US.  Grapes were cheaper than at home, but the apples were outrageously expensive.  They had two-packs, four-packs, and six-packs of apples.  They weren’t available in bulk, but that’s OK, because I doubt anyone could afford more than a few.

Six apples cost 7,200won, which is roughly equivalent to $7.

I ended up spending less than $25 buying enough groceries to last through the rest of the week.  I eat out quite a bit here, because it’s so cheap, but it’s nice to know that I can afford most foods even when the budget gets tight.

Until next time,

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Grocery Store

  1. Ashley Ozery says:

    The apples are dirt cheap on the street, but you can’t control how many you buy. I want to say around 8 apples for 3,000 won or so. Can’t beat that!

    • wtl0715 says:

      That’s not bad at all. I’ll definitely start to keep my eyes open for people selling them on the street once they’re in season again. I guess it will be a few months yet. One of my colleagues told me that apples are in season in late fall here.

      • Ashley Ozery says:

        By me they already have them – apparently they’re the one fruit you can buy near all year. Definitely get some strawberries now before they stop selling them – they’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

