Wednesday Tennis

I had a great day yesterday.  One of my middle school coteachers, Mr. Hwang, invited me to play tennis with a group of teachers.  They play for two hours every Wednesday.  I took some advice from orientation (say “yes” to everything) and agreed to join.

I was worried at first because a few of the teachers told me that they think I look like a great tennis player.  This was a bit confusing because my wide hips and heavy build don’t exactly scream “tennis pro.”  I spent Monday and Tuesday trying to convince them that I am not a good tennis player.  The last thing I needed was to shatter their expectations by being rusty.

After school, Mr. Hwang and I went to the courts to meet up with the group.  I was delighted to learn that there are tennis courts near my apartment.  I have no idea how to go about reserving them, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.  We joined ten other teachers on three brown-clay courts.  I loved the surface because it was a bit finer than the green clay on which I am accustomed to playing.

I spent a long time warming up, making sure I wouldn’t accidentally hit any grand-slams while playing doubles.  Once I felt like my forehand was under control, we started a game.  Everyone, including me, was surprised by my serve.  I opened my first serving game with back-to-back aces.

My serves were less than consistent after the first two points, but it didn’t matter, because they had all decided that I was a solid player.  It’s true that first impressions are very important in Korea.  Nobody seemed to notice that I hit half of my forehands long and double-faulted like it was my job for the rest of the game.

Another interesting thing that I noticed while we played tennis was that the men followed the rules carefully, even though it was a pick-up game among friends.  The server bows to the receiving side at the beginning of every game.  I got in trouble a few times for keeping more than two balls on my person at a time (two in my pocket at one in my hand).  I also broke the rules by failing to announce the score after every point.  Even after the first point, when it was Love-15, they wanted to hear me yell it.

The best part about playing tennis was that I got some great sleep after.  It almost makes my new blister worthwhile.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Tennis

  1. Bill Love says:

    Glad to see you’re getting a work out! Brown clay….. almost like the red stuff at Roland Garros! Did you feel like you were in France?

Leave a Reply

