I Went to Costco

Yep, there is a Costco in Daegu.  I went there.  The shopping was good.  The pizza was amazing.

Scott (New Zealand) asked for westerners to meet him at Costco on Saturday morning.  He threw a pizza party for his students and wanted some other native English speakers to help them practice speaking.  I decided to join the party.

I got to Costco a few (60) minutes late.  As if sleeping in wasn’t enough, I ran into traffic in the cab.  Fortunately, Scott was a good sport about it and let me off the hook.  By the time I arrived, the pizza party was nearly complete.  I didn’t let that stop me from grabbing a couple of slices and trying them out.  I ordered a slice of bulgogi pizza and a slice of pepperoni pizza.

Both pizzas were absolutely amazing.  I ate them so fast that I forgot to stop and take a picture.  Sorry about that.  I promise, it looked just like all of the other pizza in the world.  The bulgogi pizza was a bit sweet because of the sauce on the meat, but the pepperoni was all salty goodness.

After I finished stuffing myself, Scott and I did some shopping.  The store is split between two floors.  The lower floor is all non-food items.  The selection wasn’t as good as American Costco, but it was pretty impressive nonetheless.  I didn’t buy anything downstairs.  Scott wanted to buy a vacuum, but they were so expensive that he decided to wait.  A small apartment-sized vacuum was over $180.

Hershey's, Crunch Bar, etc.

Upstairs, Scott and I had a field day.  Shopping in Costco for an hour felt like being back in the states….except for all of the Asians and the fact that we only heard people speaking in Korean.  At least half of the products were familiar western brands.  We saw Oreos, Granola Bars, Goldfish, and much more.

I managed enough willpower to skip the candy aisle, but I couldn’t help myself when we passed the bakery.  I grabbed a container of cookies.  I generally avoid grocery store cookies because they are never as good as homemade.  Since my apartment was not equipped with an oven, they were my only choice.  I’m glad I decided to make an exception, because they were delicious.

The most delicious thing I bought at Costco was a container with four giant chicken wraps.  They were very simple – big chunks of white meat chicken, lettuce, tomato, and a little mayonnaise.  They lasted for four days; half of one wrap was a meal.

We checked out, and I spent a little over 125,000 won, which is roughly equivalent to $120.  When the time came to go upstairs to the main entrance, I was a bit worried.  I was sure that I would look like an idiot pushing my heavily loaded shopping cart on the escalator (which was more like a very steep conveyor belt).  The Koreans didn’t seem to have a problem with it, but I had a feeling that there was a learning curve.  As we approached the ramp to the escalator, I looked a way to apply a brake on the shopping cart.  No such luck.

We rolled onto the escalator and, to my complete surprise, the cart stuck to the ground as if held by a strong magnet.  The cart didn’t roll backward or knock us over.  It simply sat perfectly still in front of us.  A family behind us thought I was insane when I decided to snap a picture of Scott holding the cart with one finger.

Costco is definitely not the best deal in town, but it’s worth a few extra dollars to have some food from home in the cupboard.  I think I may have to make a monthly pilgrimage to Costco snacks and pizza.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

