New Phone

You may have noticed in my last post that the photos are much clearer and brighter than in previous posts.  That’s because they were captured with my new cell phone.  I got a Samsung Galaxy S2 on Tuesday afternoon.  I was a little worried that the iPhone 4s that I had for about a month (before coming to Korea) might have ruined other phones for me.  Fortunately, that wasn’t the case.  The Galaxy is pretty amazing.

You may be wondering how I took this picture. Lots and lots of mirrors - that's how.

No more searching for WiFi to steal in my neighborhood.  No more embarrassing musical ringtone.  No more old flip phone that got me in trouble.  Actually, it helped me get myself in trouble while I was talking to the EPIK Director for the Daegu Office of Education at dinner two weeks ago:

Director: I see you have a phone.  Very nice.  Do you like it?
Me: Not really.  It’s pretty old.
Director: Oh really?  How old is it?
Me: This is the phone my grandfather carried in the Korean war.
Director: Really?  That’s amazing.
Me: …..no.  I bought it used recently.
Director: Oh…I see.  Enjoy your dinner.  Goodbye.

One of these days I will get it through my head that sarcasm doesn’t exist here.  Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

