Bad Habit

I found a cool blog today.  It’s called The Nomad Grad.  It’s written by a woman named Hilary who travels around the world.  She isn’t a trust-fund baby or otherwise supported by others as she travels.  I got the impression from reading her blog that she is both intelligent and interesting.

She told a story about riding on a train in Oregon and being out of her element.  She felt like an idiot because she didn’t know how to do basic things like check in for her trip or manipulate the footrest.  I’ll spare you the whole story (you can read it here).  The bottom line was that she assumed everyone else thought she was a moron, but it turned out that one of her fellow travelers found her charming.  This portion of the post caught my eye:

While I had been so concerned about making a fool out of myself, he had found my presence endearing. Huh.

I guess the lesson learned is that we really do create our own reality. And maybe I should stop putting thoughts in other people’s heads. I do have a bad habit of doing that.

This is something that I have a tendency to do as well.  In fact, it’s one of my major shortcomings.  I have to constantly remind myself that I’m not the only person with insecurities and flaws.  Furthermore, most people are too worried about their own to think much of mine (I hope).

I’ve worked hard on putting this habit on ice while in Korea, but occasionally I feel it rearing its ugly head.  Hilary’s post was a healthy reminder.  It’s also nice to know that I’m not the only person who does this.

That’s all.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bad Habit

  1. Robert says:

    Having no insecurities of my own with which to concern myself, I have always focused solely on reminding you of yours. I have also compiled a list of your fears through observation

Leave a Reply

