Sexy And I Know It

I had my first date in Korea tonight.  Ordinarily, this isn’t the type of thing I would share – even with you.  But I had to tell you about part of it.  Two noteworthy things happened.  First, I found a Korean who seems to understand American humor.  Second, I found out that I still have game (sort of).

We went to dinner at a Shabu-Shabu place in downtown Daegu.  It was awesome.  You basically get to make your own soup at the table by adding vegetables, mushrooms, and meat.  It was delicious.  Once the meat was all cooked and the remaining soup had a strong flavor, the waiter brought out some thick, starchy noodles to put into the soup.  They were absolutely incredible.

I got full pretty quickly.  She didn’t.  She ate and ate and ate.  Right when I thought that she couldn’t possibly take another bite, she got a whole new plate of vegetables.  This girl is thinner than one of my thighs and she can out-eat me in a big way.  She made fun of me for not being able to keep up.  It was funny that a big American policeman eats like a wimp.  As we were leaving, she told me that I am big like a bodyguard, and I eat like a little girl.  I responded, “I’ll do the fightin’ if you do the eatin’.”

As soon as I said it, I realized that I was going to have to explain the sarcasm.  I turned around to tell her that I was just kidding, and to my surprise, she was laughing (I think it was real laughter, too…not polite fake laughing).  It was at that moment that I realized she might be the only Korean (not counting Korean-Americans and the like) to understand my sarcasm.

The second noteworthy thing happened at a coffee shop down the street.  She got a coffee and I got the worst iced tea I’ve ever had.  Fortunately, the conversation was much better than the drinks.  We had a great time.  Despite how well it was going, I didn’t expect this:

Date:  What time are you leaving to go home?
Me:  I’m not sure.  Is there something you want to do?
Date:  I wish there was a place where we could go to sleep together.
Me:  ……
*I almost choked on my tea.  I didn’t know how to react.  What the hell do you say here (other than YES!)?
Date:  Is everything ok?
Me:  Yeah, apparently it’s great.
Date:  I don’t understand.  You look tired, I thought we could take a nap and then go out later.
Me:  Oh….so you actually want to sleep?
Date:  Yes, sleep together.  Maybe I could sleep on your couch.
Me:  There’s something I should explain…. 

I don’t know what’s more awkward – my reaction or the fact that I’m going to eventually have to tell her that my place is way too small to fit a sofa.  Either way, I thought it was pretty funny.  She eventually understood and was pretty embarrassed.  All in all, it was a good night.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Sexy And I Know It

  1. Bird says:

    Best Post Ever!!!

  2. Drew pouniu says:

    YOU GOT GAME!!!! I had to re-read couch, coz I thought it said something else. I have a dirty mind. But that’s awesome bro, it looks like she gets you 🙂

  3. Robert says:

    I guess you feel safe using “couch” as long as you’re in Korea

  4. WTasch Fwe says:

    HEY WHITE TRASHES YOU GUYS GO HOME U FUCKING LOSER FETISHIST BASTARDS.

Leave a Reply

