Learning Curve

I realized this morning just how much I don’t understand about blogging.  Actually, I suck at it – especially when it comes to the nuts and bolts of operating a blog.

You suck.

Taken from here.

That’s not to say I don’t enjoy blogging.  I love it!  A Southerner Abroad began as an effort to market myself to potential employers, and it has since evolved into a personal journal.  I didn’t expect much more than for my parents and my grandmother to stop by once in a blue moon.  Wow – color me surprised.  Though my readership is minuscule compared to serious bloggers, I can’t wrap my head around the fact that hundreds of people intentionally read my ramblings (thank you!).

This morning, I spent some time looking through my blog statistics – something that I don’t do often.  Almost immediately, I noticed a trend.  I realized that the keywords I use to tag my posts are important.  There is a clear correlation between a post’s tags and the people who “like” the post (click the “like” button).  Food-oriented entries with keywords like “traditional Korean food” and “spicy” are “liked” by people with the words “chef” and “foodie” in their screen names.  I probably should have figured that one out sooner, but I suck at blogging – remember?

I have also noticed that there are some talented writers who visit my blog.  Hell, some of them even subscribe.  For weeks I’ve been reading their blogs.  Some of them are downright amazing.  I think (hope) that my writing is evolving as I learn from them.

These realizations make me want to learn more about blogging.  I want to be a good blogger.  I don’t know what exactly that will entail, but starting today, I’m going to learn.  My first step is to tag this post with keywords designed to attract people who can offer good advice on blogging.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.  I imagine that some readers want to learn how to improve their blogs as well.  So, how can we improve our blogs and grow our audience?

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Learning Curve

  1. Bird says:

    You got me. I have no idea why people keep reading my stuff… 🙂

    • wtl0715 says:

      I like to read your stuff because it’s well written. I have a blast reading your stories – especially conversations between you and your husband.

      • Bird says:

        lol…Thanks. I have a blast reading yours too, especially your date one and the store you wouldn’t go in.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

