Second Temple Stop

This is the one I’ve been waiting to show you!  It was my favorite stop of the whole trip.  As usual, I had no idea what was going on when we arrived.  The bus pulled into the parking lot of a small flea market that was an odd mix of fish and the normal cheap crap that you find at flea markets.

My assumption was that we were there to check out the flea market and take a quick restroom break.  I walked into one of the shops and started to look around.  When I looked back up, the whole group was walking through the parking lot.  By the time I caught up, I realized they were heading toward a small trail head.

As we snaked our way up a large hill beside the parking lot, one of the teachers told me that we were going to a Buddhist temple that overlooks the East Sea (aka Sea of Japan).  I don’t know exactly what I expected to find when we crested the hill; all I know is that I was totally surprised.  It was a lot more than a temple – it was a whole village of beautiful Buddhist buildings.  I think the photos speak for themselves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Second Temple Stop

  1. Debbie Teague says:

    Taft, I really enjoy your blog and the pictures are amazing!

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks, Debbie. I love putting them up and sharing all of the things I’m seeing and doing with you and everybody else. I’m glad you are enjoying them.

  2. Lisa says:

    Your picture are really beautiful, I just love all of the carvings, sculptures. Thank you for showing just a little part of Korea.

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks, Lisa! I thought the carvings were great, too. I can’t get enough of all the temples and monuments here. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

