Day At The Cemetery

I mentioned in my last post that Conor (Ireland), Scott (New Zealand) and I spent most of last Saturday exploring Daegu.  Our trip to the temple was awesome, but I had even more fun at an ancient graveyard.  After leaving the temple, we caught a city bus back to Scott’s neighborhood, Bullo-Dong.  We made a pit-stop at the 7-Eleven beside Scott’s apartment for food and drinks before heading to the burial site.

I’ve heard a lot about this cemetery from Scott over the past few months.  He said that there are some old burial mounds a short walk from his apartment and that he likes walking around them.  Frankly, I didn’t have much interest in visiting, but I decided to tag along for the company.  Now I’m glad that I did.  The burial site is no ordinary graveyard.  It is a big hill dotted with hundreds of huge mounds in which thousands of people were buried more than 1,500 years ago.  If the history of the place wasn’t enough, the view sure as hell was.

Ignore the jackass reflected on the sign… I didn’t think about it until I got home and looked at the picture.

We spent the rest of our afternoon exploring the mounds.  The view from the tops of the mounds was amazing.  The mounds aren’t as high as the mountains surrounding the city, but they are much closer to the center of town, so the view was still impressive.

The site was empty with the exception of a few old folks wandering around, so there were plenty of peaceful spots to relax and take in the view.  Conor and Scott drank makgeolli (Korean rice wine) and I had a nice gas station lunch.  We spent several hours sitting on some of the biggest mounds telling stories about our old lives.

Here are some of the pictures we took.  Enjoy the view.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Day At The Cemetery

  1. Ashley says:

    This has actually been on my list of must-dos for a while… gotta check it out!

  2. Claire says:

    LOVE these pictures. Its like an awesome…real-life…teletubbies set.

Leave a Reply

