Messing With Mr. Kim

I can’t help myself. I need to have some fun around here. I decided to screw with my coteacher.

I share an office with two other teachers – Mr. Kim and Ms. Shin. At least once per day, I find Mr. Kim passed out at his desk. If given enough time, he falls into a deep sleep. The only thing that seems to wake him up is the sound of the door to our office opening. This is fortunate for Mr. Kim, because this provides just enough time to wake up and pretend like he’s working.

EPIK English Coteacher sleeping at deskLast week, while I was working on lesson planning, Mr. Kim began to snore. I knew he was on his way to a deep sleep, so I waited a few minutes and then tested him. I called his name – no response. It was time to mess with him.

I opened the internet browser on his computer and navigated to the Victoria’s Secret website. Then I did it again, and again, and again. After opening and maximizing about ten windows, it was time for Mr. Kim to wake up. I walked out of our office and opened the door. As soon as it squeaked, I heard him wake up and begin typing. It took about three seconds for him to realize that he was looking at scantily clad women. I heard “OH!…UHHHH…UHHHHH….WAIT A MINUTE” (in Korean).  As I walked into the office, he turned the monitor away from the door.  I pretended not to notice.

As soon as he got all of the windows closed, Mr. Kim called the school’s IT guy (aka “Computer Boy”). I didn’t understand much of what they said, but I could tell that Mr. Kim was arguing with Computer Boy about whether or not his computer had a virus.

I’ve done this a total of three times now, each time with a different website. It gets funnier every time, because he’s growing more and more frustrated, and he panics a bit more each time. The last time, I opened way more windows and made them different sizes so they were harder to close quickly. He panicked so hard that he simply unplugged the monitor.  Eventually he’ll figure out that it’s me, but for now I’m going to enjoy it.

As always, if you enjoyed this story, please leave a comment and use the links below to share it. To keep up to date with Southerner Abroad, like my Facebook page.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Messing With Mr. Kim

  1. Patrick Moser says:

    One word, actually an acronym: NAMBLA

  2. Jackson says:

    You should do the old Print Screen and hide all of the Icons trick, or open up rainbows.com. Either way, keep it up, its nice to hear you still play tricks on people. The other day I got to my office early and switched all of the wireless keyboards and mouse to different analyst’s computers. It took them forever to fix it. Also, a coworker of mine has an office downstairs that has a closet directly behind where he sits. He comes to work at the exact same time everyday so at 8:35 I made my way down to his office and waited in the closet. I waited approximately 10 minutes after he arrived until I jumped out. I am pretty sure his hands are still shaking in terror!

  3. Lisa says:

    Love it.

Leave a Reply

