Weekend in Busan

As the title suggests, I spent some time this weekend in Busan.  This was my second trip to the coastal city located about 50 miles south of Daegu.  Conor (Ireland), Scott (New Zealand) and I caught the slow train from Daegu Station to Busan Station after lunch on Saturday.  The trip took less than an hour and a half and cost 7,000 won, or half the price of a KTX ticket.  We plan to utilize the slow trains for short trips in the future.

Thanks to the quickly approaching rainy season, we were treated to some beautiful clouds when we arrived in Busan.

The view from the main entrance at Busan Station.

I snapped this picture from the cab as we crossed Diamond Bridge near Gwangalli Beach.

We caught a cab from Busan Station to Haeundae Beach, which is arguably the most famous beach in Korea.  The weather was pretty nasty, so we walked straight to the Hostel (Pobi Guesthouse).  My new girlfriend (an irresponsibly hot hostel employee) helped us check in.  (Side note: she doesn’t exactly know that she is my girlfriend…but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.)

Instead of heading straight to a bar, we decided to save some money and have a few drinks in the hostel.  I had forgotten how much fun it can be to relax with friends in a quiet place, as opposed to fighting the crowds in loud bars.  Opportunities to hang out in a private setting are rare in Korea because our apartments are far too small to accommodate guests.

This would have been the perfect setting were it not for the damn teddy bears. As you might recall from my past posts – I am convinced that they are little more than cute and furry petri dishes.

After a few drinks at the hostel, we made our way to Gwangalli Beach to join the rest of our friends.  Shortly after leaving the hostel, Scott and I were surprised to find a new bar (under construction) with a familiar name.  It is being built less than two blocks away from the hostel.  This definitely merits a trip back to Haeundae Beach.

If you’re not familiar with this show, then please leave my blog (just kidding…kind of). It is definitely worth checking out if you’ve never seen it!

The rest of the night was a blur.  We spent the entire time bar hopping and neighborhood hopping.  Not long after meeting up in Gwangalli, the entire group (20+ foreigners) headed to the Kyungsang University neighborhood.  This is a hot spot for the 20-somethings in Busan at night.  We got tired of the crowded bars pretty quickly, so a few of us walked to a nearby Family Mart (Korean convenience store chain).  We were surprised to find that there were TONS of other foreigners who had the same idea.  We found ourselves in the middle of a block party of sorts.

From left to right: Stacey (USA), Will (UK), Kelsey (Canada)

I decided to head home early – I split a cab with the first group to return to the hostel.  I heard that I missed one hell of a party after 1am, but I was awake and alive on Sunday to enjoy the beach.  I think I made the right choice.

Yep…that happened.

I have a couple more stories about the weekend, but they can wait for other posts.  I think this is a great place to end it.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Weekend in Busan

  1. kaylin says:

    Hi there, I’ve been perusing your blog the past hour or so reminiscing about my time in Korea (I taught there from August 2011 to August 2012), esp the Busan posts since that’s where I lived. Just came to this one and HAD to comment, because 1) Busan station is like my home (you could literally almost see my apartment from the top of those escalators in the first pic), 2) I am also a fellow southerner (I’m from Alabama) and you know we are a rare breed overseas, and 3) because I am pretty sure I was in the background of those family mart shots somewhere! I spotted two of my friends (girl in the orange hat, and guy in white shirt in front of her) and I think I was probably sitting at one of the tables that night and thus am just out of view. So funny because it seems we just missed crossing paths!

    • wtl0715 says:

      Wow, that’s amazing! I hate this cliche…but it really is a small world. Sure wish I knew there was another southerner there that night.

      • kayling05 says:

        It’s totally a small world. I am amazed at how small it seems once you get out in it, because it seems so huge before you leave. I have met a grand total of 5 other Alabamians while traveling, and found I had some kind of connection with 3 of them (the other two were an older couple, but the 3 I had the connection with were close-ish to my age). One of them had gone to HS with an ex of mine, one knew my best friend’s ex, and the other was from literally the next town over from mine (like no more than 10 minutes away). Funny how that works!

Leave a Reply

