Vice Principal Strikes Again

Everyone around here is surprisingly interested in the fact that I was sick for a few days.  At first it seemed like friendly concern, but it is something akin to morbid curiosity.  The questions have evolved from, “Wirriam, how feel today?” to, “Wirriam , are you no eat because running to toilet?”  Really?  Seriously?

Mr. Kim gets a kick out of talking about my symptoms.  I can’t help but laugh when he says “water SHOT” and pantomimes vomiting.  I tried to teach him to say “throw up”, but he seems keen on “water SHOT“.  The fact that I can’t help but laugh when he does it just eggs him on.  He must have said it twenty times yesterday – at least once every time I walked into the office.  “Oh, Wirriam, you are look tire.  Are you water SHOT?  HAHAHAHA!”

My vice principal managed, once again, to create a totally awkward situation and completely embarrass me in public.  While I was walking to the bus with a group of my A-level students, a few of whom speak English fairly well, the vice principal drove up to us and rolled down his car window.  Instead of calling me over to speak privately, we had the following conversation out loud in front of about ten students.

VP:  Wirriam!  Wirriam!  Are you still many diarrheas?
Me:  Is it important that we discuss this now?
* My look of shock should have been obvious to ANYONE, but he completely missed it and pushed on.
VP:  I am worry for you.  Mr. Kim say you are many diarrheas.
Me:  ……..I’m late for the bus.

The vice principal drove away oblivious to the fact that, in fifteen short seconds, he made suicide seem reasonable.  As soon as he was gone, the kids started laughing.  I realized that the two who understood the exchange were explaining it to the rest.  Though I doubt the conversation alone would have been particularly funny to the kids, I think they got a kick out of my reaction to the situation.  I wanted to die.

If this school is teaching me anything, it’s that social awareness does NOT come naturally and there is no such thing as personal information here.  That is a dangerous combination for an American who is easily embarrassed.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Vice Principal Strikes Again

  1. Jackson says:

    Wirriam this is hilarious! I was worried something happened to you since the updates stopped for a few days.

  2. Joshua says:

    Taft, you have not learned this yet. It is perfectly acceptable to talk about your bowels in public in Korea. You should not have been the least bit embarrassed and I imagine you were really the only one. The kids didn’t mind it at all. My kids come up to me all the time and say they have diarrhea or have to use the bathroom and they will actually put a hand on their butt. Seriously, don’t be worried about that at all. I would link it but just watch the Chan Ho Park video about diarrhea and you will see it is perfectly natural to discuss it.

    Also, I do understand the curiosity with being sick. I called out sick once just because I really need a day to recuperate and just couldn’t get myself moving. I will NEVER do that again. Everyone was really concerned and thought maybe I was going to die. They kept asking me if I needed to go to the hospital and if they should take me. They were truly overly concerned and I would not want to worry them like that again. One co-teacher said she had a problem sleeping that night worrying if I was going to be ok. I will have to be missing a limb next time I come in if I am going to call out sick!!!

    • wtl0715 says:

      I’m sure you’re right that I was the only one embarrassed by the incident. The problem isn’t a lack of understanding – it’s that I can’t make myself comfortable with it, no matter how acceptable it is here.

      I love that video, too! I should have embedded that one into the post. Maybe I’ll update it soon.

      • Joshua says:

        Haha, I got ya… yeah, it was a little weird to say at first but after awhile it’s pretty nice to just be open. I still tone it down a little. Today I was about 5 mins late and had a first period class. My coteacher said, “Are you tired?” I said, “No, I got up at the normal time but spent an unusually longer time in the bathroom” as I held my stomach. He just said, “Oh I see” and that was it, lol. Yeah, I can see where you are coming from.

        Man, can’t believe The Philippinnes was that bad 😦 I have a friend that keeps talking me into going. The last care package I got from my Sister-in-law has cemented the fact that I’ll be visiting them in Hawaii for winter instead. I just have to see my nephews.

        Did you hear about the latest tourist casualties in Vietnam? Another strange death and no comments from government officials. Some say it is a bacteria in feces that is causing it and that they are not really sanitary in Vietnam. Here is a link, but I think if you search there were some better articles out there about the story. Pretty sad…

        http://www.waygook.org/index.php/topic,41535.0.html

      • wtl0715 says:

        I think that other people had great experiences in the Philippines – especially Bohol. I think that I spent all my time in the one place that didn’t suit me. I imagine there are some much less touristy and nasty places to stay.

        If I didn’t ride the bus, I would definitely remember that excuse. Unfortunately, I really can’t be late. If I miss the bus, I’m out of luck.

        Thanks for the articles, I’ll check them out!

  3. Taft, I enjoy reading your blog!! makes me laugh so hard!! Well done, keep them coming!!! PS. Your VP sound crazy!!

Leave a Reply

