Couples Clothing

There are many Korean cultural quirks to which I have become accustomed over the past seven months.  The innumerable differences between Korea and the west seemed overwhelming at first, but they have become a normal rather quickly.  The sights, sounds and smells that are unique to this country have almost all melted away into the background of my daily life.

But there are a few things that I still find interesting, even weird.  Chief among them is the way that some couples dress in public.  A surprisingly large number of Koreans coordinate clothes with their significant other – often wearing the exact same outfit.  Although these couples are a small portion of the overall population, it isn’t uncommon to see several of them downtown or on the subway in a single day.

I snuck this picture while in line for a ride at Everland.

I stole this picture from another blog.

I can’t quite put my finger on why this phenomenon is so weird to me.  There’s the obvious nauseating cuteness inherent in it, but there is something else that I can’t articulate.  Maybe it’s the fact that this is so acceptable.  In the US, I would expect people dressed this way to get weird looks and quiet laughs.  I think of it as the Korean equivalent of personalized (airbrushed) “Jimmy loves Darlene” license plates.  But nobody here seems to notice or care.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing – but for me, it’s just weird.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Couples Clothing

  1. Robert says:

    you’re just jealous.

Leave a Reply

