It’s About Time

I was getting worried – it’s been a couple of weeks since anything totally weird or infuriating happened here.  Things have been going well….too well.  Fortunately, we returned to normal this morning, thanks to one of my fellow English teachers.

Mr. Park is the head English teacher for the 3rd grade (senior class).  We do not teach together, but I see a lot of him.  He visits our office at least a few times a week.  This usually consists of him strolling in, talking to Mr. Kim and standing over my shoulder reading my emails (not cool).  Today was different, though.  He was a man on a mission.  Mr. Park hurried in and opened two boxes that he left here about a month ago.  Both boxes were full of books.  He stacked the books on the empty desk beside mine.

A grand total of 52 textbooks.

Mr. Park:  William.  You will choose English book to next year.
*I immediately point to a random book*
Me:  That one.
Mr. Park:  No no, read them.  After decide, all teacher will vote.
Me:  Wait…is it my decision or do we vote?  I know how this works – the older teachers will disagree with me, even if they haven’t read the books.
Mr. Park:  Yes.  Good job William.
Me:  …ok.  I’ll read them and let you know what I decide.
Mr. Park:  Good, William!  You tell choice at meeting.  1:20pm.
Me:  Today???
Mr. Park:  (In Korean) Yes – hurry hurry!!!
Me:  You’ve had these books for a month!  Why am I hearing about this now???
Mr. park:  Yes.

I got worked up for about thirty seconds – then I decided not to worry about it.  He didn’t care enough to make this request weeks ago, so I’m not going to bust my ass at the last second for his sake.  Even if tried, I doubt I could get through more than five or ten of the books before the meeting.  So I guess I’ll start reading them as soon as I finish my own work.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “It’s About Time

  1. Jackson says:

    Just choose a random one! Why did you write William? Doesn’t he pronounce it Wirram, or has his English improved over the months?

    • wtl0715 says:

      That is a different teacher – not my coteacher. And he comes pretty close to saying “Wirriam”, too. I guess I just wasn’t thinking about it at the time… I’ll do better next time!

Leave a Reply

