Oh No….

Most of my funny posts involve embarrassing or stupid things that other people have done.  I guess it’s only fair for me to practice full disclosure and share a BIG mistake that I made yesterday.

There is a kids’ song and dance that I have seen several times online recently.  All of the Korean girls know it, and it’s super-cute when kids do it.  It’s called “일 더하기 일” or “One Plus One”.  Here’s an example:

Last night, while my after-school class was on break, I asked one of the girls if she knew how to do it.  She yelled for her friends to come over, and they all did it for me.  As usual, it was ridiculously cute.  After they finished, one of them said that she wanted to teach me.  The whole group erupted into squeals and clapping.

My first instinct was to just walk away.  Get the hell out of there before I get talked into something crazy.  But then it occurred to me that this might be a good teaching moment.  I struggle all day to get these kids to speak English, and now they are begging me to participate in something.  Why not?  What could go wrong?

I sat down in the front of the class and learned all of the words and the moves.  It’s pretty simple, so it didn’t take very long.  By the time I finished learning and could get most of it right, the bell rang and it was time for class.  All of the students were begging me to do it one last time.  “Teecha – it’s Sanksgiving.  Pleeeeeaaaassssee!”  So I put on a little show for them.  They all grabbed their phones and started snapping pictures.  It was embarrassing, but I had fun.  As soon as we were done, we got back to studying and I forgot all about it….until this morning.

When I got to school, there were several messages waiting for me on my computer (the school has a computerized message system).  Some of them were in Korean, others in English – all of them had the following video attached:

I put it up on YouTube so that I could embed it in the blog.  I have to imagine it’s already all over YouTube, anyway.

I can’t believe I didn’t hear the little bell signaling that the video was starting.  I guess I wasn’t paying attention.  I’m pretty sure I know which student took the video, so that little monster will definitely pay for it!

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Oh No….

  1. Chris Branch says:

    Wow…

Leave a Reply

