Out With the Old…

Recently, whenever I see friends around town, they have been asking me when I plan to do another post. Well – here’s your answer: now!

There are two reasons that I’ve decided to wait a while before posting again. The first is that I was in a bit of a holding pattern, waiting for my current contract to finish and waiting to leave my old apartment. The second, and most important, reason I’ve been waiting is because I’m painfully, hopelessly lazy.

Fortunately for you, the stars have aligned and I woke up this morning with the will to write. I am living in a new apartment, enjoying the company of two new roommates and preparing to begin my new contract tomorrow. As I write this post, I’m sitting in my office at Dalseo High School for the last time. At 8:30 tomorrow morning, I will start a new year at Shinseo Elementary School.

When I woke up this morning in my new apartment, I was struck by the effect that a new living arrangement can have on your life. We have only lived in the new apartment for about three days, but the differences are already having an impact on my day-to-day life. I feel less like a college kid and more like a real adult again. Since my new bedroom is almost exactly the same size as my old apartment (seriously…I measured), I don’t feel cramped. I have a full size refrigerator and a kitchen in which it is possible to cook. I’ll post some pictures as soon as we get the place looking presentable.

I’ll also make an effort to spend more time writing posts as I get settled into the new school. I have a feeling that the funny stories won’t dry up simply because people can speak English at the new school. With any luck, there will be plenty to share.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Out With the Old…

  1. Chris Barber says:

    Hi Taft, I am glad you are enjoying your time in Korea. You are having so many adventures and that is great. I enjoy reading the funny stories and seeing the photos of you and your surroundings. Your Mom and Dad really enjoyed your visit to LA. Enjoy your newest adventure. Best wishes for a terrific time all the way around!!! Love, Aunt Chris

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks Chris! I appreciate the comment. I hope all is well on your side of the pond. Please tell everyone that I said hi.

Leave a Reply

