I Did It!!!

Last year, when I arrived in Korea, I decided that my first major language-learning goal was to order delivery from a restaurant…in Korean. The majority of people who own or work at restaurants in my neighborhood don’t speak a lick of English, so it’s pretty intimidating. I’ve had the phone in my hand several times, only to chicken out and walk to the restaurant.

Tonight, I decided to step up to the plate. I grabbed one of the seemingly endless stream of takeout menus stuck to our door daily and searched for something that looked delicious.

2013-03-06 20.16.19

Unfortunately, this didn’t help my confidence as the menu is intimidating. Despite the fact that I read Korean well and had no problem understanding the menu, it made me nervous. Every page is packed with a million different options and exploding with bright colors and designs. After deciding that I wanted chicken, I found a page that wasn’t quite so seizure-inducing.

2013-03-06 20.16.08

I called the number on the page and a Korean guy who sounded like he was about my dad’s age answered. That was a bad start because middle-aged Korean guys tend to speak the least English and have little patience with foreigners. But I powered through and told him that I wanted delivery. He asked what I wanted, and I told him. I didn’t want to give him the chance to spit out any super-fast Korean and confuse me, so I immediately started rattling off my address. As soon as I finished, he said “yeeaaaahhhh” and hung up. Success!

I’d love to stay and chat, but I’m HUNGRY!

2013-03-06 20.35.40

Until next time.

-Taft

6 thoughts on “I Did It!!!

  1. Libby says:

    Excellent! The first that I was able to order pizza and chicken over the phone, I was super excited. Sometimes they’d rattle off something in Korean and I would go, “Uhhh…” So then they would usually go, “Coke?” *whew* I was even more excited when I found I could order Domino’s PIzza online and have it delivered! 🙂

    • wtl0715 says:

      Haha I know what you mean about waiting and hoping that they find a simpler way to communicate what they are trying to say.

  2. Claire says:

    That plate looks good….

  3. Detetiv says:

    Order from them again?

    • wtl0715 says:

      Yes, since then, I’ve ordered food quite a few times. It’s gotten even easier, but sometimes I’ll run into an issue and hang up in a panic.

Leave a Reply

