My Walking Buddy

One of my favorite students this year is a 3rd grader named Gi-Tae (박기태). All of the third graders seem to like me, but this kid jumps at every chance to interact with me. At least once a day, while walking down the hall, I hear “TAFT!!!!! TAFT!!!!! TAFT!!!!….hello Taft how are you I’m fine and you.”

A couple of weeks ago, I ran into him while walking to school. I turned a corner a few blocks from school and there were Gi-Tae and his mother. He asked his mother if he could walk with me, and she said yes. He ran over, grabbed my hand and said “같이 가고싶어요” (I want to walk together). I said OK, of course.

The next day, Gi-Tae was waiting in the same spot. Now he is always waiting for me.

This morning, he was a bit late, so I continued to school. About two blocks later, I heard “TAFT!!!!! TAFT!!!!! 기다리다!!!! (WAIT!!!).” I had my phone out, so I got a great picture.

Gi-Tae - My Walking Buddy

Why didn’t I choose elementary school from the beginning? It’s so much better than high school!

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “My Walking Buddy

  1. yumi1027 says:

    What a cute kid!

  2. Ty says:

    That’s friggin adorable…and I don’t even like kids. 🙂 miss you bud!

    • wtl0715 says:

      I’ve never been a huge fan of kids before, either. This place is really changing my outlook. Almost all of these guys are great!

      Miss you too!

  3. love0080 says:

    Ahh! Hes adorable!

  4. araneus1 says:

    As an ex primary school teacher, I would have to agree.
    Terry

    • wtl0715 says:

      Terry, I wish I had the foresight a year ago to know that high school would be hell compared to elementary school. I avoided elementary school because I was worried about becoming an English-speaking babysitter. As it turns out, that’s exactly what a high school teacher is.

  5. redesigned says:

    How very cute indeed! I taught elementary and I’m sorry to say that they stop being cute at 4th grade. They might still be kinda cute at 5th grade, but 6th grade? Fuggetabowdit! ~M.

    • wtl0715 says:

      Yeah, I am pretty luck with some of my 5th and 6th graders, but on balance they are WAY less cute than 3rd and 4th graders. Friday (my 3rd grade day) is my favorite day of the week.

Leave a Reply

