I’m a Movie Star

I got word yesterday morning from my new (overly ambitious) vice principal that I needed to make a 4-5 minute video to play for the school’s morning broadcast. It seemed like a tall order, considering the fact that I’ve never made an educational video. The kicker came when they told me that have it ready the following morning (which is today).

I spent most of the day brainstorming. It was incredibly difficult to think of a simple, age-appropriate video for Korean elementary students – many of whom don’t speak any English yet. I finally settled on the idea of showing them how to make a food that I liked when I was their age: Egg in a Hole.

The video was a serious pain in the ass to make. It took over an hour to cobble together three minutes of usable video. By the time I sat down at my computer and began to edit the video, it was almost midnight. This may not seem late to you, but I keep grandpa hours during the week. At midnight, I”m already an hour late for bed.

Once I finished editing, I was too tired to care that the video was absolute crap that didn’t quite make sense. I even included a short bloopers reel, which no longer seems like such a good idea now that I’ve gotten some sleep.

As I’ve mentioned in past posts, it’s not fair for me to only share other people’s embarrassing moments on this blog while omitting mine. So, here goes:

For those of you who really loved this video, you’ll be excited to know that this is the first of many. According to the vice principal, I’ll be doing these at least every other week – maybe every week – for the rest of the school year.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “I’m a Movie Star

  1. araneus1 says:

    I’ll bet the kids loved it.
    I taught photography and film to a bunch of primary school kids back in the 1970s…. they loved it too.

  2. love0080 says:

    Hahahaha. Thank you for this.
    All I can think from the first 10 seconds is…dad in Paris. I’LL Haaveee a Coookeeeee, Puhleaseee”

    I loved it. I want one more.

  3. Debbie Snyder says:

    Great job on short notice! Bet the kids loved it. I love reading your blogs by the way.

  4. Jessica Wesson says:

    Great video, good start for the day for me.

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks Jess! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Now your day might seem a little bit more normal, knowing that this stuff is happening on the other side of the world.

  5. jrobertaustin says:

    I felt like I was watching Blue’s Clues. Perhaps your next career?

    • wtl0715 says:

      That’s actually the style that I’m going for. My goal is to eventually work my way up to a real Blue’s Clues response…I want to hear kids yelling at the screen as I’m asking brain-numbingly stupid questions over and over again.

  6. roomtoshake says:

    Your co-star is so cute and dreamy….

Leave a Reply

