Love Motel #4

As you know from my posts last week, I went to Gyeongju the weekend before last. It was a great trip thanks to great food and fascinating Korean history. The trip was made even better by a top-notch love motel.

The place is called Hotel Liebe (호탤 리베). It’s located a few blocks from the old train station in downtown Gyeongju.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

This hotel had great reviews on several phone apps, so I decided to give it a shot despite the fact that the price was a bit higher than the surrounding hotels. As I walked down the street on which Liebe is located, I noticed several other motels that looked comparable to Liebe from the outside, but I didn’t have a chance to go inside and check them out.

Gyeongju - Hotel Leibe Front Door Gyeongju - Hotel Leibe Exterior

I originally planned to rent one of the VIP rooms, just because I thought it would make for a cool post. When I checked in, I asked my Korean friend to help me ask to see the rooms before booking. We looked at the VIP room, 110,000 won (~$100) and a regular room, which was 80,000 won (~$75). Though the VIP room was a bit bigger, the difference didn’t seem to be worth the significant price difference. When the hotel manager offered me the regular room for 70,000 (because the room’s computer was broken), I jumped at the offer.

I didn’t have a lot of time after check-in to snap pictures of the room, so they aren’t on par with my normal love motel photography masterpieces:

Leibe Hotel Gyeongju - Bed

The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Not too soft and plenty big enough for me to spread out.

The TV wasn't as big as in some of other motels, but it didn't matter to me.

The TV wasn’t as big as in some of other motels, but it didn’t matter to me.

 

The bathroom was average size. Nothing special, but no complaints.

The bathroom was average size. Nothing special, but no complaints.

Better than normal assortment of toiletries. Notice the lack of bug spray here...

Better than normal assortment of toiletries. Notice the lack of bug spray here…

One nice thing about this room was the fact that they left big towels, robes and slippers that I could actually squeeze onto my feet. Many love motels give you one or two small towels that simply can’t cut it for a big guy like me. This motel gave two BIG towels and two hand towels. The robes weren’t particularly comfortable…but I thought it wasteful not to at least try one on.

Not exactly a good fit.

Not exactly a good fit.

I really liked this place. The price here wasn’t as good as can be found in larger cities, but that’s to be expected in a small resort city. If you share the room with a friend (they have rooms with twin beds), it can be relatively affordable. Despite the price, I was impressed. The staff was nice, the room was clean and t was close to Gyeongju’s downtown historical district.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Love Motel #4

  1. Jackson says:

    Why does that picture of you remind me of Silence of the Lambs?

    • wtl0715 says:

      Wow, good eye! This room was actually where several scenes from Silence of the Lambs was shot. I wondered who would pick up on that…

Leave a Reply

