Neighborhood Drunks

I went to bed around 11pm last night. At 12:30am, I woke up to the sound of people yelling outside. It was two couples yelling at each other – the men were trying to fight and the women were trying to break it up (and simultaneously spurring it on, as drunk people tend to do).

As I opened my blinds and leaned out the window to yell at them, two police cars pulled up. The cops broke up the fight and sent both couples away.

I got back in bed and was almost back in the mountains with Sofia Vergara when I heard a different couple yelling outside. I waited about ten minutes before yelling at them to “SHUT THE HELL UP!” Surprisingly it worked…for about thirty seconds.

When they started up again, I walked outside and politely asked the old guy to “SHUT THE HELL UP!” Instead of fighting me (which I expected), he said he was sorry and got quiet. When I went back inside, I realized that his wife had slipped in when I walked out. She was on the second floor, yelling and banging on door 203. So we called the cops.

This time, they only sent one police car. The officers made the woman leave the building. Outside, they told the couple to be quiet. The drunks kept insisting the the woman in 203. The officers argued with the couple, telling them that the woman in 203 was not the caller. The argument became heated and the man grabbed an officer’s shirt and arm several times. But the cops never reacted. They simply got back in their car and tried to leave.

Daegu Police at Night

As the cops were pulling away, the husband opened the driver’s door to the police car and grabbed the cop. Instead of knocking some sense into the man, the cop continued to try to calm the man down. The partner got out of the car and dragged the drunk away from the driver. The cops tried to leave again, despite the fact that the couple was being incredibly loud. As they were leaving, the couple continued to ask who called. One officer finally told them that “the foreigners” were the callers.

So, not only were these cops either lazy or cowards, they were also unprofessional. I wasn’t scared of the couple (in fact I would have been happy to beat the guy like a rented mule), but what if I were alone and scared?

The couple continued to yell all morning. I managed to fall asleep around 2 or 3am. When I woke up at 6am, they were still outside shouting. In fact, when I walked to school, I found them at the corner of my street enjoying a frosty brew.

Neighborhood Drunks

The wife recognized me and said something to the husband. He yelled something in Korean, so I walked over and told him to repeat it. He didn’t.

Now I am starting to understand why people have such low opinions of police officers in Korea. I hope the lazy guys last night were the exception to the rule!

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Neighborhood Drunks

  1. redesigned says:

    Who knew Koreans could be so ghetto. I’m amused how you went all American on the old guy -haha.. And you’re not wrong. The police officers I dealt with were also lazy. (They were in the Busan jurisdiction, so it stretches far.) ~M.

    • wtl0715 says:

      That’s a shame it’s not just an isolated issue, because this country is going to have its hands full eventually if the police force is so far behind the growing crime rate. They’re going to have to grow some balls (or work ethic) to get the job done.

  2. Wowow!! Crazy night!! That really sucks! But its funny how they had something to say thinking you wouldn’t react! Good for you! Lol

Leave a Reply

