Storm Trooper Season

It’s that time again. I call it Storm Trooper Season – when the ajummas (older Korean women) to start bundling up from head to toe before setting foot outside. The weather this week has been 90+ degrees on at least two days, but these women look like they’re training for the Iditarod.

Ajumma - Storm Trooper - Daegu

I understand the desire to maintain white skin and avoid tanning here, but it seems like there would be a much better way to do it than risking heat stroke every time you set foot outside. When I took this picture, my hands were so sweaty that I was worried about dropping the phone, and I was wearing short sleeves and sandals.

What’s more surprising is that most Koreans don’t wear (or even need) deodorant. I’m incredibly jealous. When I climb the stairs to my apartment, I look like I’ve been jumping rope in a sauna. Even my “clinical strength” deodorant can’t get the job done during the summer in Daegu.

My mission for this summer is to bring you more pictures of storm troopers. They’re not easy to photograph because they tend to walk faster than I run. I’ll practice and hopefully get quick on the draw.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Storm Trooper Season

    • wtl0715 says:

      Haha, yeah definitely crazy! I fully expect to see one of these women passed out from heat stroke one day.

      • Ugh yea it seems they would!! Or be like a cartoon ive seen where they get steamed out in a suit and when they come out of it they are as thin as a rail! Hahhaa

  1. T.D. says:

    Man, when I see the ajummas in their gear, it makes me want to faint. I don’t know how they do it. However, I’m totally going to start wearing a mask to cover my face and nose because the Korean sickness has gotten the best of me. I’ve been sick so much since I’ve been here. My co-teacher and Korean friend suggested I get a mask or wear a scarf because of dust particles. When I went to the doctor this week, they gave me a breathing treatment. I’ve never in my life had problems with allergies. So maybe they’re on to something with the face mask in addition to avoiding the sun like the plague.

    • wtl0715 says:

      I know what you mean. I’ve been sick more than normal since I arrived in Korea. I have to assume that it is partly because there are just different germs hanging around East Asia than we’re used to. But I agree that the air here just isn’t good. The mask isn’t a bad idea!

Leave a Reply

