Writer’s Block

I’ve been writing this blog for a while now. Over eighteen months, in fact. In that time, I’ve rarely gone more than 72 hours without writing a post. My post count is nearly 300 as of this writing. But lately, I have totally lacked inspiration.

1372291885420

It seems like funny and interesting things aren’t happening as often as they did before. Is it possible that my sense of humor is being eroded by Korean culture? After all, my sarcastic and dry humor is lost on Koreans, who generally favor less subtle.

Or maybe anger and frustration are my inspirations. On the balance, I have been very happy since arriving in Korea. Many of my most popular posts were written when I was on the verge of losing it. I’ve been frustrated with my coteachers occasionally this year, but it’s not the same wacky inter-cultural misunderstanding kind of frustration that makes for great posts. Instead, it’s the type of frustration that comes from having three (that’s 3) pregnant and hormonal coteachers.

My goal for July is to write more. But I don’t want to sacrifice quality. I won’t turn this blog into a Facebook or Twitter feed. You read enough about what friends ate for breakfast and how much they loved True Blood last week. You don’t need me spamming the interweb.

So it’s time to get to work looking for interesting things to share in the coming weeks.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. Keep writing – humour in life is precious

Leave a Reply

