Service in Korea

I’ve mentioned before that service in Korea sucks. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve had a really bad experience with a Korean business, so I started to think that maybe I was wrong. That was, of course, just silly. I was absolutely right. Today was a great reminder…

My roommate Patrick and I ordered delivery today for lunch. We got friend chicken from a local shop. The delivery took an hour (30 minutes longer than they said), and the driver couldn’t find our building. After fifteen minutes and three phone calls, we finally walked down the street to meet him. Aaaaand…the box on the back of his bike was empty. He forgot our order.

To be fair, the driver was very polite. He was apologetic and seemed genuinely embarrassed by the poor service. He told us that he would ask the owner to give us a discount.

He returned a few minutes later with our food. He looked embarrassed again as he told us that the owner agreed give us a discount “next time.” It was obvious that even he knew it was bullshit. But we were hungry, so we decided to let it go. Being foreigners, we knew there was no way to convince him or the owner to give us a discount.

Korean fried chicken delivery.

Korean fried chicken delivery.

As if that wasn’t enough, this was at the top of my half…

Korean fried chicken with hair in it.

The hair was cooked into the batter, so I at least it was sanitized.

I called the store and spoke with the owner. I told him that their was a hair in my food. His response: “Do you want to order something else?” My Korean isn’t good enough to rant, so I just hung up.

I’m not in a hurry to move back to the states, but I’ll never take service for granted again.

Until next time.

-Taft

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

