I Hate My Gym

I’ve been going to the gym regularly for three or four months. It’s the first time in several years that I’ve settled into a good workout routine. I’m making solid progress, so I want to continue. Unfortunately, my gym isn’t making that easy for me.

I chose this gym because it’s the only economical option that is a convenient distance from both home and school…but I truly hate it. The people who work there are lazy, it’s dirty, and the other people who work out there do really annoying things.

I compulsively clean the gym every day. When I arrive, there are weights, dumbells, and bars all over the floor. Sometimes every single rack in the gym is empty because the weights are all spread out across the floor. Not only is this dangerous, it also aggravates my mild case of OCD.

Dirty disorganized gym

This is what the gym looks like after I cleaned up several of the weights and dumbells. You can still see five bars left on the floor.

Another incredibly annoying thing is the music. There is never any music that gets me pumped up. It’s always Justin Beiber, Korean boy groups, or music as un-manly as Celine Dion. Sometimes they’ll switch it up and put on some girl-group music.

Yesterday, I saw the most annoying thing yet. This isn’t something that negatively affects my ability to work out, but it still made me a little crazy just to watch.

Texting while working out at the gym Texting while working out at the gymTexting while working out at the gymTexting while working out at the gym

I’m really hoping lately that a decent new gym will open in my area.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Hate My Gym

  1. Daryl says:

    Imagine how ripped he would be if he looked at a laptop while doing sit-ups? LOL

  2. Saz says:

    Heard most gyms in Korea are like that, mainly because they don’t have a big gym culture and thus no gym etiquette!

    Gyms here in Hong Kong are quite good but still no sanitizing wipes…

    • wtl0715 says:

      I think you’re absolutely right. The gym culture here is growing, but still quite young. I really hope it gets better soon.

      Next time I’m in HK, I’ll be sure to hit a gym!

Leave a Reply

