That Was Close – I almost fought a hotel owner

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about racism in Korea. The response was mostly positive, but some people noted a lack of specific, personal examples of discrimination. Unfortunately, I had an incident tonight that was undoubtedly the result of racial prejudice.

A business owner denied me an advertised discount on the basis of my race and assaulted me when I walked outside and took a picture of his business. When I involved the police, they were polite but totally unwilling to file a report or confront the business owner on my behalf. Here’s what happened:

I use a smart phone application called Yanolja (야놀자) to find hotels when I travel. I’ve even mentioned it before in other posts. Yanolja is similar to Yelp! in the US. It has a map to help you find nearby hotels, price lists, pictures of rooms, and a rating system with lots of reviews. Member hotels offer a discount to Yanolja users. All you have to do is tell them that you used the app to find their hotel.

Yanolja App - Map Screen

Yanolja App - Price Screen

The standard prices are listed in black. The blue prices below are the Yanolja prices. In this case, a single room is 55,000 won ($50) without and 45,000 ($40) with the Yanolja discount.

Before arriving in Seoul, I chose a hotel with a 5-star Yanolja rating that is in the area in which I wanted to stay. The hotel is called Jungno 3 Ga Story (중로 3가 이야기) – named after the local subway station. It was easy to find as it’s only a few hundred feet from a subway station exit. The place was exactly what I wanted – a small business motel that was a few blocks away from the local party scene.

I waited a few minutes before the man who was working behind the desk – I assume the owner – showed up. I asked him if he had any rooms available, and he said yes. I told him that I used Yanolja to find his hotel, which means that I wanted the discount that Yanolja users are promised when they use the app. We had the following conversation:

Clerk: The price is 55,000. No Yanolja.
Me: Why not?
Clerk: Yanolja Korean app. Not for foreigner.
Me: I speak some Korean, I can use the app. Why won’t you give the discount?
Clerk: Discount only for Korean person. Foreigners no.
Me: Are you serious? You racist asshole!
Clerk: 씨발개새끼야!…(couldn’t understand)…외국놈 – This means “son of a bitch” and “foreign bastard”

I gave him the finger (probably not helpful), walked outside and took a photo of the front of the hotel.

Story Hotel Seoul - 중로3가 야야기

This sent him over the edge. He came out after me, “why pictures?” He tried to grab the phone, but I put it in my pocket. When I turned around to walk away, he grabbed my backpack and pulled me back. I pulled away and continued to walk, but he ran around in front of me and grabbed my arm to keep me from leaving. I pushed past him several times, but he continued to grab me and try to keep me there. He didn’t take a swing, but he was very angry and aggressive.

Having spent many years as a police officer, my first instinct was to fight. Fortunately, I kept my cool and didn’t fight back. He was a big guy and there was nobody in the alley to help me if things got out of hand. I pushed past him several more times, but every time he grabbed me again and pulled me back. Finally I pushed him hard and he stumbled, so I jogged past. He followed me for a bit, but stopped once I reached the main street near the subway station.

I immediately called the police department. I explained that I wanted to make a complaint for assault. The dispatcher initially refused to send a police officer, but when I told him that I was an American policeman, he said that he would send someone. Three officers (two rookies and a supervisor, I think) showed up a few minutes later. One of the young officers spoke a very basic English, so I explained what happened. Between English and Korean, I got the important facts across.

The officers were kind, but they didn’t seem interested in taking a report or even talking to the guy. They simply took me to a different hotel and dropped me off. The hotel was 70,000 won, $25 more than I wanted to spend, but I decided not to complain since they were kind enough to give me a ride.

I can’t decide whether I should let this go or try to do something about it. What do you think? If you were in my position, what would you do?

Until next time.

-Taft

As always, please like and share this post if you enjoyed it. Be sure to visit the Southerner Abroad Facebook page and Like it so that you don’t miss any new stories.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

