Bad Day

Today was not a good day…

Last weekend, I was extended a job offer from a university near Seoul. The job is a good one – an English professor at a reputable school with great hours and lots of vacation time.

This afternoon, I got a call from the professor in charge of hiring. She told me that the administration office, is rescinding my job offer. Some of my teaching experience overlaps with the time during which I was studying for my master’s degree. According to a new law (or maybe school policy), the school cannot count both the experience and the education. “Since you earned your masters while teaching, only one can count, and you need both to meet our requirements.”

This is similar to what happened the last time I was offered a university job, only to have it rescinded at the last minute. They just keep moving the goal line.

I signed a form a couple days ago informing my current office of education that I won’t return next year. So now I have to start the job hunt over again. I’m starting to wonder if Korea’s even the right place for me. I need more university experience to get an entry-level university job.

It’s not the first (or second) time something like this has happened. I’m starting to think that I’m doomed to bad luck with my career.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bad Day

  1. Debbie Tegue says:

    So sorry, Taft. I know how much you like it there. Sure hope something turns up.

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks a lot Debbie. I’m sure something good will come along soon enough.

      I hope things are going well on your end. Have a great week!

  2. I am very sorry! I hope that another opportunity will turn up.

    • wtl0715 says:

      Thanks, I’m sure something will come along. I’ll be upset for a day or two, then I’ll bounce back! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

