Disturbing LG Advertisement

Gender equality and domestic violence are major social issues in Korea and at home in the US. In the states, these issues have gotten a surge of attention lately, thanks in part to conservatives and their brilliant coning of the phrase, “legitimate rape”. In contrast, I rarely hear about them in Korea. Domestic violence is an issue that hits close to home for me because of my time in law enforcement. That’s why I was appalled by a new LG advertisement that makes a lighthearted joke involving domestic violence.

Though this violence is tame compared to what we see on TV and in movies every day, I’m bothered by the fact that it’s part of a cute commercial that millions of children and young adults will see. If this ad were to air in the US, I am confident that it would stir up a firestorm. But, as far as I know, it hasn’t caused too much of a stir in Korea.

Am I being overly sensitive, or is this a sign of a serious cultural problem. What do you think? Leave a comment below.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Disturbing LG Advertisement

  1. guest says:

    Both are in the wrong.
    She slapped his hand away first and was very rude.
    Later he escalated to serious violence by slapping her in the face.
    After seeing it, I’m not a fan of this advert either.

  2. Guest says:

    1) That was Samsung, not LG
    2) Why did I have to watch until the end when it happened hallway through?

    • wtl0715 says:

      1) The poster of the video is LG U+. “LGupluslte”

      2) You’re absolutely right. Not sure what made me think it was the end. I’ll fix that.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

