Maybe I am an Idiot

I’ve written a few posts about how my coteachers last year assumed that I was a moron. I like to think that I’m smarter than your average bear, but today was a prime example of the fact that I’m no genius.

This morning I went to Incheon Airport near Seoul. While walking from the airport train station to the departure area, I passed an indoor ice skating rink where a few dozen kids were skating.

Seoul Airport Skating Rink

The first thing that I noticed was that there were several kids using walkers – those aluminum things that people use to keep their balance when they need more than a cane.

Seoul Airport Skating Rink

My first thought was, “awww those kids are so brave! They don’t let a handicap stop them from skating.” Instead of keeping this to myself, I turned to my friend and told her what I was thinking. She started laughing so hard that she almost fell over on the escalator. She had to explain to me that the walkers were not for handicapped kids; they were a training aid for kids who can’t skate well.

….maybe I am an idiot.

Until next time.

-Taft

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Maybe I am an Idiot

  1. T.D. says:

    I would have thought the exact same thing as you. When I learned to skate, I just went out to skate. Of course, I fell numerous times, but it was apart of the learning process.I never would have imagined using a walker to learn to skate, but we are in the land of Korea and I’ve learned that things are totally opposite. You’re not an idiot at all. It is just something we won’t see back home.

  2. Wow, that is a great idea for beginning skaters. I sure wish that I had used that!

Leave a Reply

