Resume Update

Four years ago, I paid a service to create my resume. It looked nice, thanks to some great formatting, but it never felt like a good resume. Much of the writing was awkward because dozens of popular keywords were clumsily forced into sentences.

Yesterday, I decided that it was time for a complete overhaul. The goals were to cut out the keyword-focused content, simplify the format, and pare it down to one page. After several hours of writing, and dozens of revisions, I think I’m finally happy.

So, what do you think? I’d love to hear suggestions. Do you have any great resume writing tips that we can all use? Feel free to add them to the comments section below.

Until next time.

-Taft

P.S. If your company happens to be in the market for a blogging ex-cop international traveler, then you can contact me here.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Resume Update

  1. Taft, resumes are such an art so take this response from my experience helping others in this art. Most employers are looking for a certain skill set. Your skills therefore, should be the first thing you focus on. They should also focus on the employers needs. This is because employers typically do not spend a lot of time on resumes and need to access the critical skills for the job quickest.
    Good luck with your job search. If you are in need of additional help, I am currently offering free job search coaching to fathers and husbands. You can check out what I am doing here, click on the help 100 tab.

Leave a Reply

